iOS 14 allows users to stop apps from looking at photo library Putting privacy at the forefront.

Apple has introduced a new privacy feature in iOS 14, allowing users to stop apps from looking at their full photo library, and instead, limits their selection to one or two photos.

As first spotted by Benedict Evans on Twitter, the new feature is designed to give users more confidence in using third-party apps.

For example, a photo printing app may ask for access to your entire photo library and upload those photos to their servers for future personalized marketing campaigns, but with iOS 14, users can give them access to just the photos they want to print right now.

When an app now requests access to your photos, you’ll be able to choose from three options – Select Photos, Allow Access to All Photos and Don’t Allow.

Explaining the new feature on iOS 14, Apple says: “Your photos and memories are personal. Apple’s new privacy controls let you decide what photos and videos you share.

“When an app asks for permission to access your photo library, you have the choice to select specific items or allow access to all photos and videos.”

The new privacy-focused feature will no doubt go down well amongst consumers.

WWDC 2020 placed great emphasis on privacy in an attempt to further cement Apple’s position as the most privacy-focused technology company.

Other privacy features coming to iOS 14 include Touch ID and Face ID on Safari, clipboard restrictions, and a notification when an app attempts to use your microphone or camera.

Are you excited to get your hands on iOS 14? Will you be downloading the public beta in July? Let us know your thoughts and check back soon for more news and rumors, soon.

Avatar
About the Author

Everything Apple, every day. This post was written by an AppleMagazine newsroom writer.