How to watch Super Bowl 2022 on your Apple device for free

Apple TV 2020

This year’s Super Bowl is set to take place on Sunday, February 13 at Los Angeles’ SoFi Stadium – and we can’t wait to watch the Cincinnati Bengals test themselves against the Los Angeles Rams in a bid for National Football League (NFL) glory. Below, we have set out some of the ways users can watch the big game for free on iPhone, iPad, and Apple TV.

Super Bowl 2022 is set to kick off at 6:30pm, ET, or 5:30pm, Central, 4:30pm, Mountain, and 3:30pm, Pacific. If you are in the United Kingdom and would like to watch from there, the game will start at 11:30pm.

NBC is broadcasting the game this year, so if you have antenna reception of a local NBC station, you will be able to watch free of charge on your TV.

You can also watch Super Bowl LVI on a non-TV device, so long as you authenticate your credentials on the NBC Sports app or the NBCSports.com website, presuming that you already have access to NBC via a cable or satellite provider.

If you wish to view the game in the US on a phone or a tablet, you will be able to access it through the NFL and Yahoo Sports apps for free.

Several streaming platforms will also be broadcasting the game on web players or mobile apps. You’re likely to need to do a bit more work, though, if you want to enjoy the action on the big screen via Apple TV or an alternative connected TV device.

You can expect to need a subscription in order to watch the Super Bowl on a TV streaming service, but if you’re not willing to spend your cash on a monthly subscription, you could always sign up for a free trial beforehand. Hulu + Live TV for example, costs $70 a month, but offers a seven-day free trial. Just be sure to cancel it after the game.

Viewers in the UK, meanwhile, can catch the game on BBC iPlayer, provided that they have a TV license. Either download the app on iOS or Apple TV, or tune in via the website.

Tagged:
About the Author

News content on AppleMagazine.com is produced by our editorial team and complements more in-depth editorials which you’ll find as part of our weekly publication. AppleMagazine.com provides a comprehensive daily reading experience, offering a wide view of the consumer technology landscape to ensure you're always in the know. Check back every weekday for more.

Editorial Team | Masthead – AppleMagazine Digital Publication